Skip to main content
planted
SHOP ALLPLANTS

Lifestyle

1min read
Share

Are After Eights Vegan?

by Toni Olukiran

1min read

For many people, a highlight of Christmas is cracking open a box of After Eights. We find out whether the iconic treat is vegan.

What are After Eights?

After Eights owned by Nestle and they are loved by many as a more luxurious but accessible treat. It’s a square mint fondant that is coated in dark chocolate and each square is individually wrapped in a paper sheath. For mint chocolate lovers, it's the real deal.

Are After Eights Vegan?

Unfortunately, After Eights aren’t vegan. In 2002, Nestle changed the formula to include butterfat; this was to prevent chocolate bloom (if you’ve ever had a piece of chocolate that is inexplicably covered in a white-ish substance, that’s chocolate bloom and it’s effectively just sugar). As a result, After Eights are no longer vegan.

But, if you still have a sweet tooth, we recommend you hunt down the Galaxy Smooth Mint which is vegan and will very easily replace the void After Eight may have left in your heart. Enjoy!

Share

By Toni Olukiran
Toni Olukiran

Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.

Read more from Toni


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now
Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

Explore

Where to find usVeganuarySustainability(Not at) school dinnerRefer a FriendPlanted blog

Stay in touch

Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

© Copyright 2023 Allplants Ltd. All rights reserved