Are Brioche Buns Vegan
Whether you’re thinking of having brioche as part of your breakfast or even with a plant-based burger in the middle, you must be wondering if they’re vegan.
What are brioche buns?
Brioche has all the makings of a pastry, but in fact, it’s French bread that’s made from an enriched dough. Once baked, it has a rich and tender texture that usually has a dark golden, with a flaky and shiny crust that’s been baked with an egg wash after proofing.
It’s not a new invention by any means. The first recorded use of the name dates back to the 1400s!
Photo credits: Domestic Gothess
Are brioche buns vegan?
Traditionally, no, brioche isn’t suitable for vegans because it’s made with eggs, dairy-based butter, cream and milk.
However, it’s completely possible to make your own plant-based brioche at home – we love this recipe from Domestic Gothess. Or failing that, pick up some vegan brioche buns at Waitrose.
Send more vegan questions our way in the comments section below.
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.
MORE GREAT READS
Let us take care of dinner
We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.