Are Cheerios Vegan?
Cheerios are a classic for many and a necessity to get the day off to a good start. Here’s the lowdown on whether cheerios are vegan.
Some Cheerios Trivia
Cheerios are a cereal that has brightened up the mornings of many since as early as 1941. They are owned by Nestle in the UK, and come in a variety of flavours.
Are Cheerios vegan?
Unfortunately, most Cheerios aren’t vegan. This is because Honey Nut Cheerios contains, as the name implies, honey, which is not vegan. However, both this cereal and the original Cheerios are also fortified with Vitamin D, derived from wool grease. This means that, though the ingredient list is vegan, since they are fortified it is not suitable for those on a plant-based diet.
However, Oat Cheerios, the low sugar alternative of regular cheerios is vegan-friendly, so for those in the market for a plant-based replacement of the regular stuff, you can still find vegan cheerios from the likes of Tesco and Morrisons.
Got any more questions about your favourite vegan foods? Let us know in the comments.
by Toni Olukiran
Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.