Skip to main content


platter of tortilla chips with dip
1min read

Are Doritos Vegan?

by Toni Olukiran

1min read

Doritos can be great nibbles for every occasion — a picnic, a movie night, a summer garden party, a BBQ — the list goes on. But are these classic crisps vegan?

Some interesting facts to get started

Doritos are an American brand that has been producing tortilla chips since 1964, and its creation was actually borne out of avoiding food waste in Disneyland, of all places. Casa de Fritos was a restaurant in Disneyland’s site in Anaheim, California, and seeing they had leftover tortillas and not wanting them to go to waste, they decided to cut them up into triangles and fry them, resembling Mexican chilaquiles. From there, they grew in popularity and Frito Lay began mass-producing the now-iconic snack.

Are Doritos vegan?

This is a tricky one. Several of the popular flavours contain dairy products, including (unsurprisingly) tangy cheese, hint of lime and cool original. However, flavours lightly salted and chilli heatwave use only vegan ingredients. The only issue is that they are manufactured in a factory that handles milk, so there is a risk of cross-contamination. 

It’s up to the individual how strict they are about their vegan diet, as some vegans are happy to snack away at them while others may avoid them entirely. But if you are happy to eat the plant-based crisps, they are available in all supermarkets, including Sainsbury’s and Tesco.

Got any more questions about your favourite snacks? Let us know in the comments.


By Toni Olukiran
Toni Olukiran

Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.

Read more from Toni


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now