Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

apple pie
3min read
Share

Are McDonald’s Apple Pies Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

3min read

If you’re someone who likes to enjoy a quick sweet treat when you’re out and about, you’re not alone! We’re always on the lookout for vegan-friendly snacks, but can we add McDonald’s apple pies to the list? Keep reading to find out. 

McDonald’s apple pie

The apple pie at McDonald’s has been one of its most notable and iconic menu items since the 1960s. It’s served hot and made up of a crispy pastry case that’s filled with sweet stewed apples. 

apple pie

Photo credit: McDonald's

So, is McDonald’s apple pie vegan? 

This one is a slightly complex one to answer. Whilst all of the pie’s ingredients are vegan-friendly (including the crispy pastry casing) the oil that is used to fry the pies can’t be guaranteed vegan-friendly.

This is down to the way the fast-food chain filters its frying oils – a statement says that there’s a risk of cross-contamination from some chicken and fish items on the menu. 

apples

Hopefully, the pie will be added to its vegan-certified menu sometime soon, but until then it’s up to you!

Let us know if you have any more plant-based questions in the comments section below.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.