planted logo


placeholder image
2min read

Are Oreos Really Vegan?

by Emily Harris

2min read

The short answer is yes, Oreos really are vegan. But before you dash over to your nearest supermarket and raid the vegan biscuit and chocolate section, you’ll want to read this post.

vegan oreo biscuits

Photo credit: Oreo

Following our 11 of the Best Vegan Biscuits article, which divulged into our top picks of the best biscuits for both munching and dunking, we had some responses on our Instagram post from people who were shocked that Oreos are vegan because of the cross-contamination argument. So, the short answer is that Oreos are vegan as they don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients. The long answer is a little more complex than that. 

As the Oreo FAQ page states, while Oreos are indeed veggie-friendly, they are not strictly vegan as ‘Oreo have milk as cross-contact and therefore they are not suitable for vegans’. So if you’re vegan strictly for health reasons or you’re allergic to milk, then it's probably best that you avoid our chocolatey friend, and find some other vegan chocolate or biscuits to satisfy that afternoon slump (our article recommends vegan biscuits like Party Rings, Lotus Biscuits and – the classic – Chocolate Chip Hobnobs).

As Oreos are made where there could be traces of milk found due to the equipment used and the area they are made in, some stricter vegans may not want to venture into that domain. But if you’re more concerned about the actual ingredients used in the making of Oreos, then you’re good to go. 


Emily holding a cauliflower in her hands
by Emily Harris

Emily H is part of our lovely Customer Delight team, helping customers enjoy our meals as much as she loves our Teriyaki Udon. On her days off, you’ll find her at an art gallery, snapping away with her camera, or updating her Instagram with a gin in hand (so millennial).

All Emily Harris's article


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet icon
Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/VisaCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/MasterCardCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/AmexCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay CopyCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay Copy 2Created with Sketch.

© Copyright 2020 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.