Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

prickly pear cactus fruit
2min read
Share

Are Prickly Pears Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Whether you’re eating them fresh or enjoying a recipe or drink sweetened by them, let’s find out if they’re vegan-friendly or not.

Prickly pears

Prickly pears, or Opuntia, are a plant that’s part of the cactus family and, like most cactus, is truly native to the Americas. They’re especially common in Mexico, the Caribbean islands and West and South Central USA.

The plants can grow up to seven metres tall and produce a sweet fruit that can be eaten raw – but watch out, even the fruit have splinters.

cactus with prickly pear fruit

Are prickly pears vegan?

This is an easy yes, as they’re the fruit of cactus, therefore purely plant-based, prickly pears are indeed suitable for vegans. 

This isn’t to say that all recipes including prickly pears will be fully vegan-friendly,  but the fruit itself definitely is. 

Vegan recipes with prickly pears

What better way to enjoy the natural sweetness of fresh prickly pears than in a sorbet? We love this vibrant and simple recipe from One Green Planet.

Keep your plant-based questions coming our way through the comments section below.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.