Skip to main content


babka on a plate
2min read

Is Babka Suitable For Vegans?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

For anyone who had their interest in babka piqued a year ago on The Great British Bake Off and wants to know more, you’ve come to the right place. Keep reading to learn more about the dish and whether or not it’s suitable for vegans!

What is Babka?

babka cake

Babka is made from an enriched dough, like a brioche, that’s cut, plaited and baked. The bread-come-cake originates in the Polish and Ukrainian Jewish communities. The yeast-leavened dough is made with chocolate, fruit, cinnamon or even cheese folded in. 

Is babka vegan?

Traditionally no, babka isn’t vegan as it contains eggs along with dairy-based butter and milk. However, there are some great plant-based recipes out there to try! 

Vegan babka recipe

vegan babka

We love this recipe from Domestic Gothess – make sure to let us know what you think of the end result.

Keep your plant-based questions coming through the comments section below. 


Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.