planted

Lifestyle

wok with food in
2min read
Share

Is Black Bean Sauce Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Everybody loves this tangy bitter-sweet fermented black bean sauce, but is it vegan?

Black bean sauce

Black bean sauce, also known as douchi and tochi, is made from fermented black soybeans and is an extremely popular flavouring and condiment in Chinese cuisines. The sauce itself has an umami, sweet and savoury tang with each mouthful. It’s also thought to be the oldest food made with soybeans, dating back to 165 B.C.

Is black bean sauce vegan? 

Yes,  you’ll be thrilled to hear that your favourite sauce is naturally vegan. In its simplest form it’s generally made from fermented soybeans, soy sauce and sometimes flavoured with garlic too —leaving us with a fully plant-based sauce.

Now all that’s left to do is choose a vegan dish to eat it with!

Send us more plant-based questions through the comments section below. 

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Interns who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet icon
Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/VisaCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/MasterCardCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/AmexCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay CopyCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay Copy 2Created with Sketch.

© Copyright 2020 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.