planted

Lifestyle

cake next to cocoa powder and sieve
1min read
Share

Is Cocoa Powder Vegan?

by Toni Olukiran

1min read

Used in your favourite chocolate bakes or turned into the winter hot chocolate treat, cocoa powder is a prized ingredient in the kitchen for many. But if you’re wondering whether it’s suitable for vegans, read on.

What is cocoa powder and how is it made?

Cocoa powder is cocoa solids that have been ground up. Cocoa solids are typically formed after cocoa beans have been treated to remove cocoa butter, so it’s technically a byproduct as the butter is used for chocolate liqueur. 

Is it vegan?

Like cocoa butter, in its purest form cocoa powder is indeed vegan. However, it’s worth mentioning that there is a difference between cocoa powder and hot chocolate powder. Cocoa powder is the cocoa solids in its raw form, and this will be vegan, however hot chocolate powder may contain dried milk which would make it unsuitable for those on a plant-based diet. So before you start making your next batch of vegan brownies, double-check the cocoa powder you’re using is made from 100% cocoa solids and is vegan friendly.

Got any more questions for us on classic cupboard staples? Let us know in the comments.

Share

Toni Olukiran
by Toni Olukiran

Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Interns, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at a last count) or playing tennis in the park.

Read more from Toni


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.