Is Couscous Vegan?
Have you been wondering what this grain-like stuff really is and whether or not it’s suitable for vegans? Keep reading to discover all about couscous.
Even though it might look like a grain (and even be cooked and eaten in the same way) couscous isn’t naturally occurring and is actually more like pasta if you’re looking for its relatives. Couscous is made from ground durum flour semolina and water and is the key component in the traditional North African dish, also called couscous.
Is couscous suitable for vegans?
Yes, couscous (the grain-like semolina) is suitable for vegans, but this doesn’t mean that all couscous dishes in restaurants are vegan-friendly. If you’re eating out and unsure, it’s always a good idea to ask and make sure you’ve picked a plant-based option.
Vegan couscous recipes
Now, if you’re up for getting creative with couscous at home then here are a few of our favourite vegan recipes.
This traditional Moroccan-inspired tagine is a rich, vibrant and spiced stew that comes together in under an hour, so is the perfect weeknight dinner.
Looking for a jammy, spicy and sweet dish? Well, this super-savoury-yet-sweet stew is inspired by Moroccan tagines and contains dates, harissa and cinnamon to give depth and richness to creamy aubergine and jammy red peppers.
This fresh and vibrant salad uses giant couscous and herby al dente asparagus to produce a bowlful of spring. The salad also contains a zingy dressing and is topped with toasted flaked almonds.
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.