Is Fanta Vegan?
If you like sipping on fruity Fanta to get your bubbly sugar fix then you’ll probably want to know whether or not they’re suitable for your vegan diet. Keep reading to find out all you need to know.
This fizzy fruit drink was created by Coca-Cola Deutschland in the 1940s during World War II as a result of Coca-Cola syrup not being allowed into Germany. The drink was made with ingredients that could be found within the country and got its name from the German word fantasie, meaning imagination.
The drink was hugely popular selling over 3 million cases in the year 1943, but not just as the sweet fizzy drink, but as a secret ingredient in cooking. As sugar was heavily rationed, home cooks used Fanta to sweeten everything from soups. And the distinctive orange flavour we know and love today was first produced with fresh local oranges in Naples, Italy in the 1950s!
Is Fanta suitable for vegans?
This question has a slightly complicated answer – whilst all the ingredients in Fanta are either plant-based or synthetic and there are no animal derivatives used in the manufacturing process and the majority of their flavours are 100% vegan in the UK. #WhatTheFanta (and other international flavours) do contain some of the food dyes which may have been tested on animals at some point for their general consumption.
However, Fanta is generally considered vegan-friendly.
Let us know any more questions in the comments below!
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.