Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

olive oil being poured over feta cheese
2min read
Share

Is Feta Cheese Suitable For Vegans?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Whether you’re thinking of making a Greek salad, or had other culinary intentions, keep reading to learn if feta cheese is vegan.

Feta cheese

Feta is a style of salty and tangy brine-cured cheese that can range in flavour from mild to sharp. Its famed origins lie in Greece where it’s synonymous with Mediterranean cuisine. 

a Greek outdoor view

Is feta cheese vegan?

The answer here is a pretty straightforward no. As feta cheese is made from the milk of sheep and sometimes goats it isn’t suitable for anyone on a fully plant-based diet. Vegans will not only abstain from eating meat, but also all animal products or other foods that are made with the use of byproducts too. 

The best vegan cheese alternatives

If you’re after a vegan feta however, then be sure to give Violife’s Greek White Block a try!

feta cheese block

If you want more insight into the world of plant-based cheese, we’ve lined up some of our favourite vegan and dairy-free cheeses on the market, just check out this post here. Warning, we’re utterly hooked on the Creamy Sheese Original!

Keep your plant-based questions coming our way.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.