Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

a fudge market stall
2min read
Share

Is Fudge Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

There’s something very special about seeing fudge being made in person that’s very enticing, but does this traditional form of sweet-making produce vegan-friendly confectionary? Keep reading to find out.

Fudge 

Fudge-making is a traditional method of producing chewy sweets that can be traced back to the USA in the late 19th century. It’s made by combining sugar, butter and milk that’s heated to 116 °C, beaten until smooth then cooled and shaped on a marble table.

fudge

Fudge can be flavoured in a number of ways, but the most popular seasonings include chocolate, fruits, nuts and clotted cream. 

Is fudge vegan?

Traditionally no, fudge isn’t suitable for vegans as two of its three staple ingredients are dairy-based – butter and milk. However, it’s more than possible to make plant-based versions and these are widely available to buy and simple to make. 

Keep your plant-based questions coming our way through the comments section below!

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.