planted

Lifestyle

jar of ghee
3min read
Share

Is Ghee Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

3min read

Ghee might be a popular ingredient in many Asian cuisines, but can you eat ghee on a vegan diet?

What is ghee?

A common addition to Indian, Middle Eastern and South-East Asian cooking, ghee is clarified dairy-based butter that originates in ancient India and would have been made from bovine milk, like buffalo. A clarified butter means that its milk solids have been removed so that the fat that’s left can be heated to higher temperatures without burning.  

ghee

Photo credits: Pure Wow

Is ghee vegan?

Simply put, no, ghee isn’t suitable for vegans as it’s made from dairy-based milk. However, there are a  few plant-based options that are appropriate.

Vegan alternative to ghee

Depending on how high your cooking temperatures need to be for your recipe you can opt for a plant-based butter (like one of these) for lower temperatures, like slow baking or simmering.

However, if you need to fry ingredients for a long period of time, or generally keep your food on a higher heat, then avocado or coconut oil will reach higher temperatures more happily.

Or, why not try this vegan ghee product from Fushi made with a blend of coconut and olive oil.

Keep your plant-based questions coming our way!

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.