Is Hot Chocolate Vegan?
Whether you’re hoping to recreate some childhood nostalgia or you’re after the perfect, cosy bedtime drink, hot chocolate is always a winner. But is it vegan?
Like many great things in life, hot chocolate comes in all different shapes, sizes and flavours.
Hot chocolate, also known as drinking chocolate, hot cocoa and even chocolate tea, is pretty much what it says on the tin. It’s a heated, milky chocolatey drink that’s enjoyed across generations and continents in many forms. It’s traditionally made from heated milk, or in some cases water, and melted or shavings of chocolate or cocoa powder.
Is hot chocolate vegan?
Historically, the answer would be no, hot chocolate is not vegan. However, with plant-based milks so widely available and rising in popularity across the board, it’s more than achievable to make and buy delicious vegan hot chocolates.
Now you’ve got your answer, all that’s left to do is pick a tasty and warming vegan hot chocolate recipe to make. Here are our favourite picks for some inspiration. Then find somewhere comfy to sit, and enjoy.
Be sure to send us more plant-based questions our way in the comments section below.
by Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.