Skip to main content


dipping houmous
2min read

Is Houmous Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Houmous, hummus or himmus is spelt many different ways across the globe, but we don’t care which order you put the letter in; we’re just wondering if it’s vegan.

It’s a dip that’s guaranteed to put a smile on your face, it’s naturally high in vitamin B6, helping your body to produce serotonin (the hormone that helps you feel good, rested and balanced). 


Houmous traditional Middle-Eastern dish – a dip that’s as ancient as they come. It's rich and creamy and today a common luxury-staple in many fridges. 

It’s a generous blend of shelled chickpeas, tahini and extra virgin olive oil, elevated by some lemon juice, garlic and sea salt. In addition to this, you might find cumin, smokey paprika or za’atar, as well as the flavours of chargrilled red pepper, earthy beetroot or caramelised onion. 


Is houmous vegan?  

Traditionally, houmous is completely vegan-friendly as you might have been able to tell from the ingredients list above. However, watch out in supermarkets, some have been known to add dairy-based milk-powder to their houmous in the past. So always double-check the label to make sure it’s suitable.

Send more vegan questions our way in the comments.


Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2022 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.