Is Lebkuchen Vegan?
It’s time to put away the pumpkin-spiced lattes and replace them with everything festive. You’ll be wondering which of your favourite holiday treats are suitable for vegans and today we’re looking at lebkuchen.
What is lebkuchen?
Lebkuchen is a traditional German Christmas cake-come-cookie. It’s gently spiced and perhaps the sweeter cousin of gingerbread. It gets its flavours from spices like aniseed, coriander, cloves, ginger, cardamom, and allspice and texture from nuts like almonds, hazelnuts, and walnuts, or sometimes even candied fruit.
It’s thought that lebkuchen is a development of honey cake; a cake with ancient origins with Greeks, Romans and Egyptians. But this development is a bake of its own merits.
Is lebkuchen vegan?
No, traditional lebkuchen isn’t vegan-friendly as it contains honey and butter, ingredients that people on a plant-based diet don’t eat.
However, it’s more than possible to make or buy vegan-friendly lebkuchen! Check out our favourite recipes here next.
Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.