planted

Lifestyle

fresh bowl of ramen
2min read
Share

Is Ramen Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Whether you’re tucking into a warming bowl of ramen at home, or you’re eating out and see it on the menu, you may be wondering — is it vegan?

Ramen

Ramen is a traditional Japanese noodle soup. It generally contains wheat noodles, a hearty broth topped with fresh and steamed vegetables, like spring onions and bok choy plus some kind of grilled filling, like tofu, tempeh or meat, often with a boiled egg. The broth is usually flavoured with soy, miso, ginger and chilli. 

Is ramen vegan? 

Traditionally no, ramen isn’t usually vegan as the broth is commonly made from meat or fish, as well as other meat ingredients and an egg. However, there are plenty of delicious vegan ramen recipes and options in restaurants across the UK.

vegan ramen

If we’ve really got you in the mood for a nourishing bowl of the stuff, then why not check out this vegan ramen recipe form Val to satisfy your sudden cravings? 

Send more vegan questions our way via the comments section below.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Interns who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet icon
Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/VisaCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/MasterCardCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/AmexCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay CopyCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay Copy 2Created with Sketch.

© Copyright 2020 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.