Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

rice crispies squares
3min read
Share

Is Rice Krispies Cereal Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

3min read

Starting the day with a bowl of Rice Krispies for breakfast meant you were destined to have a good day at school! No matter if you identified more with Snap, Crackle or Pop, you must be wondering if this childhood favourite is suitable for vegans. 

Rice Krispies 

One of Kellogg’s best-known cereals, Rice Krispies, have been around since the 1920s – and its recipe for cooked, dried and toasted rice cereal has remained virtually unchanged for almost 100 years. 

cereals in supermarket

Are Rice Krispies vegan friendly?

You’d think that something as simple as a breakfast cereal must be vegan (if you’re covering it in oat milk at least), but unfortunately, one of the vitamins (D3) that Rice Krispies are fortified with is animal-derived.

Can vegans eat Rice Krispie treats?

If the treats in question are made with Rice Krispies, then the answer is no. However, if a vegan-friendly alternative cereal is used then the answer becomes a tasty yes.

rude health rice puffs

Our favourite is Rude Health’s Puffed Brown Rice!

Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below. 

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.