planted

Lifestyle

VINEGAR
2min read
Share

Is Vinegar Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Whether you’re pouring it all over a hot portion of seaside chips, or stirring it through a heart stew, vinegar has so many uses. But is it vegan?

From balsamic to malt, white wine to cider, vinegar comes in many different forms, each as tangy and varied as the next. 

Vinegar

Vinegar is an acidic liquid that’s generally made by further fermenting wine, beer or malt. This means that there are many types to choose from when it comes to the supermarket aisles. 

Is vinegar vegan?

Generally yes, vinegar is vegan as it’s made from plants like apples, grapes or barley; all of which are naturally suitable for vegans. However, if you’re buying a wine or cider vinegar, then the answer gets a little more complex. Some wines and ciders aren’t entirely vegan-friendly due to animal derivatives used during production, so it would involve further research into how the vinegar in question has been made.

Send us more plant-based questions via the comments section below. 

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Interns who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet icon
Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/VisaCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/MasterCardCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/AmexCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay CopyCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay Copy 2Created with Sketch.

© Copyright 2020 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.