planted

Lifestyle

a shelf of vodka bottles
2min read
Share

Is Vodka Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

If you’ve been thinking about vegan alcoholic drinks you can sip on this summer you might be wondering whether vodka can be added to the list. Keep reading to find out. 

Vodka

Vodka, a clear alcoholic spirit that has origins in Sweden, Russia and Poland is made by distilling fermented cereal grains or potatoes with the drink resulting in a composition of ethanol and water. It can also have fruit, maple or honey bases and is often flavoured with ginger, fruits, spices and even bison grass in Poland and Belarus.  

lemon drop vodka cocktail

Is vodka vegan?

Yes, plant-based drink connoisseurs will be happy to hear that vodka is generally suitable for vegans. This is because its ingredients are plant-based and the distilling process doesn’t use animal byproducts for clarity according to The Vegan Society.

Is all vodka vegan?

Virtually every brand of distilled spirits is suitable for vegans, excluding anything with honey or a (dairy) cream base. If you’re worried about a specific label then it’s best to check their website to be safe.

Keep your plant-based questions coming our way!

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.