Skip to main content


mug of hot chocolate on saucer
4min read

The 7 Best Foods You Might Not Know Are Vegan

by Toni Olukiran

4min read

There’s a lot of food and drink out there that are completely plant-based that will definitely surprise you. Here are the top ten foods and drinks you might be eating and/or drinking every day that you may not know are vegan.

Cadbury original hot chocolate

tub of Cadbury hot chocolate

While lots of instant hot chocolates have powdered milk as an ingredient, Cadbury’s original hot chocolate is vegan friendly, containing only sugar, cocoa powder, acidity regulator (sodium carbonate) and flavourings. Just add your favourite plant-milk, and voilà — your winter is sorted.

Pringles Texas BBQ

Despite a rather meaty, smoky taste, these are completely plant-based. In fact, lots of Pringles products are vegan, such as the paprika, salt and vinegar, and the sweet chilli flavours. 

Biscoff spread

It’s hard to believe that this creamy goodness is vegan, but it is 100% plant-based. All the more reason to eat it with a spoon straight from the jar (don’t act as though you’ve never done it...).

New York Bakery Co. cinnamon and raisin bagels 

three types of bagels in sleeves.

You may not have a trip to the upper east side booked any time soon, but that’s okay! You can recreate a New York bakery vibe by toasting up these bad boys, which are vegan friendly. In fact, lots of the New York Bakery Co. Bagels are — including the original, sesame seed bagel, and red onion and chive. 


Starbursts were a school playground classic — if you whipped out one pack of these suddenly everyone was your best friend. But you probably didn’t know then and you might not know now that they are vegan. Get a hit of nostalgia with these sweets, and you’ll find they taste just as good as you remember. For more vegan sweets with big nostalgic vibes, check out our guide

Pot Noodles

Pot noodles are the saviour of uni students nearing a deadline, festival-goers as well as first-time campers and hikers (cue flashbacks to Duke of Edinburgh award expeditions). Despite meaty flavours like chicken chow mein and beef and tomato featuring in the range, they are actually plant-based, using powdered vegetables and soya pieces.

Turkish delight

Turkish delight in wrapper

Despite being a favourite for many people, and having its own place in British culture, (we all read The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe when we were younger, right?) many people are surprised to learn that lots of Turkish Delight contains no animal products. Its gummy consistency confuses people into thinking it is made with gelatin, but in reality, it is plant-based, using starches to make the jelly texture. (Though not all Turkish delight on the market is vegan, so triple check the labels when in doubt). 


By Toni Olukiran
Toni Olukiran

Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.

Read more from Toni

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now
Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power


Where to find usVeganuaryUltra Processed FoodSustainability(Not at) school dinnerRefer a FriendPlanted blog

Stay in touch

Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

© Copyright 2024 Allplants Ltd. All rights reserved