Skip to main content


4min read

What Crisps Aren’t Suitable For Vegans?

by Fabian Jackson

4min read

If you’ve recently made the transition to plant-based and you’re wondering which of your old favourite crisps aren’t suitable in your new vegan diet, keep reading!

Why aren’t all crisps vegan-friendly? 

It might seem like something as simple as crisps should be suitable for vegans, but this isn’t always the case. 

Many packets contain animal-derived flavourings that aren’t suitable for vegans, or other ingredients like whey or milk-derived flavourings. If you’re checking the ingredients labels then there are a few E numbers that you should avoid too – 120, 441, 542, 901, 904, 913, 966 and 1105 as they’re all derived from animals.

Non-vegan crisps

  • Frazzles 
  • Walkers –  Cheese & Onion, BBQ Pulled Pork, Beef & Onion, Tomato Ketchup, Smoky Bacon, Spicy Sriracha
  • Quavers
  • Pringles – Sour Cream & Onion, Cheesy Cheese, Prawn Cocktail
  • Sunbites – Sour Cream & Cracked Black Pepper
  • Doritos – Tangy Cheese
  • Monster Munch
  • Sensations – Thai Sweet Chili, Roast Chicken & Thyme, Mango & Red Chilli Chutney Poppadoms 
  • Pom Bears – Cheese & Onion

These are just a selection of the most popular crisps that aren’t suitable for vegans, but it’s important to closely read the ingredients labels if in doubt!

Check out our favourite vegan-friendly crisps here next!


Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.