Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

vegan burger and mayo
3min read
Share

What Is Vegan Mayo Made Of?

by Fabian Jackson

3min read

Anyone plant-based who loves lathering vegan mayo in sandwiches, on chips and just about everywhere else might be wondering what the substitute is made from. Keep reading to find out.

Vegan mayo

Vegan mayonnaise is a plant-based lunch-time saviour. Our potato salads are creamier and vegan burgers are that much moister (sorry, but they are).   

vegan mayo

Photo credit: Hellman's

What is vegan mayo made of?

At the root of most vegan mayonnaises, there’s generally plant-based milk which is often unsweetened soy. When combined with the remaining ingredients, this acts as the emulsifier, binding the mayo together – much like an egg does in non-vegan mayo. 

After this, oil, neutral-tasting vinegar and salt are added, perhaps with the addition of mustard, herbs, spices, garlic or maple syrup for seasoning. 

What next?

 

mushroom and mayo wraps

If you’re now hungry for something loaded with vegan mayo, then check out this tasty recipe from Aliza for vegan garlic mayo and mushroom wraps – your lunches will never be the same again.

Make sure to keep your plant-based questions coming our way via the comments section below.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.