Your Guide To Vegan Haggis
Haggis, neeps and tatties is a staple across Scotland, and there’s no reason why vegans can’t get in the action too. Here’s everything you need to know about vegan haggis, including what’s in it and where to find it.
What is traditional haggis?
Haggis is typically a pudding containing offal (sheep’s heart, liver and lungs) minced and combined with onion, suet and spices, and is nowadays cooked in sausage casing. It is considered the national dish of Scotland, as is a staple for Burns Night each January.
What is vegan haggis?
While traditional haggis is not exactly the most vegan friendly dish out there, a variation of it made vegan does certainly exist. Vegan haggis is usually made from mushrooms, nuts, and grains like pearl barley to replicate the minced meat texture of the original, and similar warming spices are added to it in the cooking process. The result is a deliciously hearty alternative for vegans to enjoy — but you’ll also likely find interest from non vegans and vegetarians about trying the stuff, too!
Where to find vegan haggis
You may be surprised to learn that actually, vegan haggis is pretty easy to source. Simon Howie’s vegetarian haggis is often the go-to brand for many when Burns Night rolls around, as it is also vegan-friendly and super delicious. It can be found in most supermarkets closer to Burns night, and at The Vegan Kind Supermarket year-round. There is also the M&S vegetable and lentil haggis available too.
Let us know if you try it!
Image credits: small city big personality
By Toni Olukiran
Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.
MORE GREAT READS
Let us take care of dinner
We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.