Skip to main content


colourful lollipops in rainbow order
2min read

Are Chupa Chups Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Who remembers the sharp and sweet apple flavour? No matter if that was your favourite, or your loyalties lie with strawberry or cola, it would be great to know if they’re vegan.

Chupa Chups

This classic lollipop has been an iconic image of pop culture over the last 50 plus years, first originated in Barcelona, where its name comes from the Spanish verb chupar, ‘to suck’.

Over the many decades, Chupa Chups has been making tasty sweets, they’ve released over one hundred flavours as part of their repertoire and produce an estimated four billion lollipops a year that are sold in over one hundred and fifty countries.

red lollipop

Are chupa chups vegan?

As impressive as those figures are, are they suitable for anyone on a plant-based diet? Generally yes, the vast majority of Chupa Chups flavours are vegan-friendly. Their ingredients are mostly fruit flavourings, colouring and sugars. Some of the fully plant-based flavours include:

  • Apple
  • Cherry
  • Cola
  • Raspberry
  • Orange
  • Strawberry

You’ll have to watch out for flavours like strawberries and cream and creamy vanilla that do contain dairy-based milk though. 

More vegan sweets

Check out our ultimate guide to the best vegan sweets available for sweet-toothed inspiration or satisfy your sweet tooth with chef-made vegan desserts.


By Fabian Jackson
Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now
Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power


Where to find usVeganuaryUltra Processed FoodSustainability(Not at) school dinnerRefer a FriendPlanted blog

Stay in touch

Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

© Copyright 2024 Allplants Ltd. All rights reserved