Are Fruit Pastilles Vegan?
Fruit pastilles are another iconic sweet, traded in playgrounds around the UK. We find out whether or not they’re vegan.
A Bit of Background
Fruit Pastilles are round fruit-flavoured sweets coated in sugar with a jelly-like consistency. They are made by Rowntree and have been since 1881. Each pack contains a mix of five flavours: lemon, lime, strawberry, blackcurrant and orange, a lot of people can remember fighting over the best flavours as kids (obviously strawberry!).
Are Fruit Pastilles vegan?
Good news — Fruit Pastilles are now indeed vegan! Rowntree launched the vegan fruit pastels in October, 2020, updating the centuries-old recipe to remove gelatin from the product. It is vegan, vegetarian and halal-friendly, so we can all get a blast from the past with this sweet.
Where to buy Fruit Pastilles
Fruit Pastes can be found in major supermarkets in a variety of sizes, including Tesco and Sainsbury’s. Make sure to look out for packaging with the vegan tick in the corner to make sure its not the non-vegan old stock!
For more info about the best vegan sweets, check out our guide.
By Toni Olukiran
Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.