Skip to main content


plates of sweets
2min read

Are Percy Pigs Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Whether these sweets bring back fond childhood memories for you or you still love to take one from a bag that’s being offered around, you’re probably wondering, are Percy Pigs Vegan?

These pink, fruity gummy-sweets are very popular, but are they vegan? 

Percy Pigs 

Percy Pig is a fictional character who lives in the infamous food hall of Marks & Spencer. Percy’s name has been attributed to the stores’ sweets since 1992 and has seen many variations and friends come and go over the years. Most notably, Colin the Caterpillar. 

percy pig sweets

Photo credits: Marks & Spencer

The original Percy Pigs sweets to hit the shelves are grape and raspberry jellied-sweets.  

Are Percy Pigs vegan?

No, unfortunately, Percy Pigs aren’t suitable for vegans. In recent years M&S has decided to permanently remove the gelatin from their Percy Pig range making them all vegetarian-friendly; however, the iconic sweet still contains beeswax making them still unsuitable for vegans. 

We’ll be sure to keep you updated when M&S make them fully plant-based! Until then, check out our guide to the best vegan sweets, here.  

Send more plant-based questions our way via the comments section below.


Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.