Are Protein Shakes Vegan?
From helping to pack on serious extra muscle, to cutting down of fat, protein shakes have many practical uses in the worlds of diet and exercise. But are they vegan?
People include protein shakes in their daily lives for a few reasons, with the most common being muscle gain, weight loss and recovery from injury. Although there are many foods that are naturally high in protein, with nuts and legumes being the highest plant-based hitters, often people search to add more to their diets.
What are protein shakes?
Protein shakes are made up of protein powder, which is usually made from dehydrated milk (whey or casein), or plant-based proteins, like pea, mushroom, rice, hemp or soy. This powder is then either added simply to water, milk or can even be thrown into a smoothie.
They’re used to complete or enhance a daily diet, often coming in handy when you need additional protein that might not be available in food alone.
Are protein shakes vegan?
This is another yes and no answer, but protein shakes can be completely vegan-friendly without too much effort. Whey and casein-based powders aren’t suitable for anyone on a plant-based diet because they’re derived from cow’s milk, however, all of the plant-based options listed above (like pea and soy) are completely suitable for vegans; especially when made with plant-based milk or just water.
The best vegan protein powders
If you want to see our favourite plant-based protein powders, read this guide here. Spoiler alert: you might want one of each of them!
Send more plant-based questions our way in the comments section.
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.