Are Skittles Vegan?
Whether you’re new to the world of vegan-friendly sweets or simply asking for a plant-based friend, keep reading to discover all about Skittles.
Skittles are a British brand of colourful fruit-flavoured sweets that was started in 1974 but is now currently produced by the Wrigley Company (of chewing gum fame), a division of Mars inc.
These sweets are more than just a trip down memory lane, they’re a chewy, fruit juice-infused centre encased inside a hard sugary shell. Each flavour has its own colour and all are branded with a capital S on one side.
Are Skittles vegan?
Yes! Whilst many of the ingredients aren’t the most natural, all of the components are plant-based or synthetic making them suitable for anyone following a vegan diet.
Yes, Skittles are indeed now vegan! Though they used to contain gelatin until 2010, and carmine (a colouring agent made from crushed insects), the company revised its formula so that their original, sour and chews ranges are vegan.
It’s always worth checking the ingredients label before tucking into a new treat.
More vegan sweets
If this hasn’t quite satisfied your hunger for sugar-coated vegan wonder, then why not check out our ultimate guide to plant-based sweets, here? You’ll be thrilled at just how many of your childhood favourites make an appearance.
Keep your questions coming our way through the comments section below!
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.