Are Spring Rolls Vegan?
Have you been thinking about some of your favourite international dishes and takeaway favourites and wondered if vegetable spring rolls are vegan? Keep reading to find out all you need to know.
Spring rolls is a name for a huge variety of stuffed and rolled appetisers from East Asian, South Asian, Middle Eastern and Southeast Asian cuisines.
The methods and recipes vary greatly between countries and even cities, but the general idea is a seasoned filing, often vegetables, seafood or occasionally meat, rolled in wrapper-type pastry that is usually deep-fried. Spring roll filling is typically on the dry side for consistency and they rely on dipping sauces for extra flavour and moisture.
Are spring rolls vegan?
Excluding any spring rolls that contain seafood or meat, the answer is generally yes, spring rolls are vegan-friendly. The dough is simply made from flour, water and salt and vegetable fillings are nearly always 100% plant-based.
If you’re buying them from the supermarket or in a restaurant it’s always worth checking to be safe!
Check out Aliza’s recipe for vegan lumpia, Filipino fried spring rolls! They make irresistible party snacks and are picnic favourites.
Keep your plant-based questions coming our way through the comments section below.
by Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.