Skip to main content


2min read

Biscuits, Biscuits, Biscuits: Are Malted Milks Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

No matter if you consider yourself a dunker, a snapper, a sharer or a keep-them-all-for-yourself-er, malted milks are some of the most popular biscuits here across the UK’s. But are they vegan?

Here’s everything you need to know about these crunchy and highly dunkable biscuits. 

Malted milk

Malted milk is a type of biscuit that’s popular with tea drinkers and biscuit aficionados everywhere. They get their name from some of their main ingredients: malt and milk. 

Over the years there have been some variations on the biscuit that have included chocolate-coated malted milks and custard cream.

Are malted milk biscuits vegan? 

No, unfortunately, due to their use of dairy-based milk, these biscuits aren’t suitable for vegans. 

Be sure to check out our post on the top 11 vegan biscuits here.

Go forth and dunk your vegan biscuits, and be sure to ask us any more plant-based questions in the comments below.


Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.