Skip to main content
planted
SHOP ALLPLANTS

Lifestyle

champagne
1min read
Share

Is Champagne Vegan?

by Toni Olukiran

1min read

There’s nothing like free-flowing champagne for big celebrations and events, but is champagne suitable for those on a vegan diet? Read on for the full lowdown. 

Nicknamed le vin du diable in French, translated as the devil’s wine (and after a big christmas party, very accurate), all champagne is from the French region called — you guessed it — Champagne, where specific grapes are grown to be pressed into the good stuff. If it's not from the region, it's just referred to as a sparkling wine

Is champagne vegan?

While most champagne is vegan-friendly, not all bottles are. This is because, like wines, beers and ciders, some may use fining agents that aren’t plant based, such as isinglass (collagen from fish bladders) or casein (the protein found in milk and cheese). These are used to refine the champagne, making it look less cloudy and brighter in colour. 

Many champagnes are, however, suitable for those who are plant-based — so check out our roundup of our favourites here. 

Share

By Toni Olukiran
Toni Olukiran

Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.

Read more from Toni


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now
Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

Explore

Where to find usVeganuarySustainability(Not at) school dinnerRefer a FriendPlanted blog

Stay in touch

Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

© Copyright 2023 Allplants Ltd. All rights reserved