planted

Lifestyle

a can of lilt on a green background
2min read
Share

Is Lilt Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

If you’re into the tropical taste of Lilt but wondering whether or not the fizzy drink is vegan-friendly, keep reading to find out.

Lilt 

The Caribbean-inspired soft drink that’s flavoured with grapefruit and pineapple has been produced by The Coca-Cola Company since the 1970s and you might be surprised to learn that it’s only sold in the UK, Ireland, Gibraltar, and Seychelles.

a can of lilt on a green background

Photo credit: Coca-Cola

Is Lilt suitable for vegans?

Unfortunately, the answer here is no, Lilt is not suitable for vegans and is one of the only drinks produced by Coca-Cola that isn’t entirely plant-based.

Why is Lilt not vegan-friendly? 

It’s a shame that Lilt isn’t vegan, in fact, it isn’t even vegetarian and here’s why. The drink contains ‘small amounts’ of fish gelatine which is used as a stabiliser for its (beta-carotene) colouring. 

Vegan-friendly drinks

After disappointing you with that news (we’re sorry) here are some of our favourite drinks that are not only suitable for vegans, but pretty tasty too. 

Keep your plant-based questions coming our way via the comments section below.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.