planted

Lifestyle

pilau rice dish in a large pot
2min read
Share

Is Pilau Rice Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

2min read

Whether it’s serving as an accompaniment to a hearty array of plant-based curries, or you’ve gone all out in making your vegetable pilau rice dish the main event, you might be wondering if it’s vegan?

Pilau Rice

Pilau, pilaf or pulao is a rice dish made by cooking long-grain rice in stock or broth, incorporating whole and powdered spices, like cumin, coriander seeds, turmeric and cinnamon and adding vegetables or other ingredients.

pilau rice dish

Is pilau rice vegan?

Yes, pilau rice can indeed be vegan, and it’s no surprise that we think it tastes great that way. However, it’s always worth checking the ingredients: depending on where you’ve bought your pilau dish, the stock may not be vegan and sometimes meats can be cooked through the rice too, making it not suitable for vegans. 

Check out our post on the best vegan rice dishes from around the world.

Be sure to send more plant-based questions our way via the comments.

Share

Fabian Jackson
by Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.