planted logo

Lifestyle

glasses of sparkling wine
5min read
Share

Is Prosecco Vegan?

by Emily Neill

5min read

Don’t put your flutes away though because a lot of prosecco brands are vegan friendly! 

Most prosecco is 100% vegan-friendly, but this depends on how the wine is clarified in a process called fining. Some prosecco isn’t due to the use of animal products as fining agents. Look out for the brands that use non-vegan fining agents such as gelatin (animal protein), casein (milk protein), albumin (egg whites) and isinglass (fish bladder protein). Don’t put your flutes away though because plenty of prosecco brands are vegan friendly! 

Three of our favourites:

What is fining? 

Fining is a winemaking process that aims to clarify and stabilize a wine, usually to improve it’s aroma or colouration by flushing out certain elements that cause the wine to look hazy or taste bitter.

Share

Emily Neill
by Emily Neill

Emily is our Content and Community Assistant by day, and qualified PT by… later that day. She couldn’t live without exercise (makes sense) so can usually be spotted in her favourite spin class, with our Three Mushroom Risotto for afters. 

All Emily Neill's article


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet icon
Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/VisaCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/MasterCardCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/AmexCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay CopyCreated with Sketch.Atoms/Icons/Payment/Large/ApplePay Copy 2Created with Sketch.

© Copyright 2020 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.