Skip to main content


two pieces of ruby chocolate
3min read

Is Ruby Chocolate Vegan? 

by Fabian Jackson

3min read

If you think to keep in the know on all things plant-based and all things chocolate, then you might be wondering if pale-pink ruby chocolate is vegan-friendly. Keep reading to find out more. 

What is ruby chocolate? 

Ruby chocolate is a relatively new kid on the confectionary block. It officially joined the scene in 2017 but had been under development by Belgian chocolatiers since the early 2000s. 


Its been dubbed as the fourth kind of chocolate, after dark, milk and white and has a distinctive natural pink colour as well as a slightly sweet and sour taste from ruby cocoa beans. 

Is ruby chocolate vegan?

No, currently ruby chocolate is not vegan – this is because it has been created and patented by Belgian company Callebaut, who use dairy-based milk to produce the confectionary. There’s currently no recipe to available for anyone to veganise, but hopefully, in the not too distant future, we’ll all get to try the pink stuff.

What types of chocolate are vegan-friendly?

It’s a common misconception that vegans can’t eat chocolate! There are plenty of great-tasting plant-based chocolates on the market that either use plant milk (instead of dairy) or no milk at all!

pieces of dark vegan chocolate

Check out our favourite vegan-friendly dark chocolates here next!


By Fabian Jackson
Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now
Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power


Where to find usVeganuaryUltra Processed FoodSustainability(Not at) school dinnerRefer a FriendPlanted blog

Stay in touch

Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

© Copyright 2024 Allplants Ltd. All rights reserved