Skip to main content
planted

Lifestyle

red bull with glass on table
1min read
Share

Is Taurine Vegan?

by Toni Olukiran

1min read

A key ingredient in energy drinks and some supplements, many people may not know what taurine exactly is, and therefore whether or not it’s vegan Read on for your questions answered. 

What is taurine?

Taurine is an amino acid and a naturally occurring compound found in animals and humans. It is often added to energy drinks as it has been shown to help improve performance in sport. It can also be found as a supplement; since it is generally found in meat and fish, those who are plant-based may take supplements to ensure they are getting enough. This is however not essential as there is no recommended intake of taurine currently. 

Is taurine vegan?

Taurine is vegan most of the time, as although you may have heard it is extracted from bulls urine, it is actually developed synthetically and is not obtained from animals (In the instances it is taken from animal sources, it still isn’t taken from bulls urine though, to be clear). If you’re not sure if the supplement or energy drink is suitable for vegans, check the label — and read this article on whether Red Bull is vegan next. 

Share

Toni Olukiran
by Toni Olukiran

Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.

Read more from Toni


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.
People and Planet
VisaMasterCardAmerican expressApple PayGoogle PayMicrosoft wallet

© Copyright 2021 Allplants Ltd.
All rights reserved

Welcome to allplants. We use cookies (plant-based, of course!). By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more.