Skip to main content
planted
SHOP ALLPLANTS

Lifestyle

vegan tzatziki
3min read
Share

Is Tzatziki Vegan?

by Fabian Jackson

3min read

If you consider yourself a dip connoisseur then you’re probably very familiar with tzatziki – but is this garlicky, cucumber dip suitable for vegans? Keep reading to find out.

What is tzatziki?

Tzatziki is a Greek dip that’s popular across the world. It’s similar to other dishes in Eastern Europe and the Middle East, namely ovdukh from the Caucasus mountains and Iranian mast o khiar. 

vegan tzatziki

The dish is generally made of yoghurt, cucumber, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice and salt for seasoning and flavoured with herbs like dill, mint parsley or even thyme. Tzatziki is usually served as part of mezze and eaten with bread or fried aubergine or courgette. 

Is tzatziki vegan?

Traditionally speaking, no, tzatziki isn’t vegan-friendly as it has historically been made with dairy yoghurt, however, it’s just as simple to make a plant-based version with all the same flavours and textures. 

Vegan tzatziki recipe 

Check out our Food Editor, Val’s recipe for creamy vegan tzatziki. The perfect party dip for crisps, sliced vegetables and breadsticks. 

Share

By Fabian Jackson
Fabian Jackson

Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.

Read more from Fabian


MORE GREAT READS

Let us take care of dinner

We help to make eating more plants easy and delicious. Fancy letting us take care of dinner? Check out our delicious meals here.

Shop now
Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

Explore

Where to find usVeganuarySustainability(Not at) school dinnerRefer a FriendPlanted blog

Stay in touch

Multi award-winning great taste producer
Certified B Corporation
London Living Wage Employer
Plant Power

© Copyright 2023 Allplants Ltd. All rights reserved