What Is Vegan Condensed Milk, And Where Can You Find It?
Condensed milk is a staple ingredient in a lot of cuisines around the world. With the arrival of a vegan alternative, we answer your questions about what it is, where you can find it, and a couple of tasty suggestions of what to make with it.
What is condensed milk? And what is vegan condensed milk?
Condensed milk is typically cow’s milk that is treated to remove water, resulting in a thick and creamy liquid that is often sweetened. It is used in a lot of traditional dishes from around the world, including flans, brigadeiros (chocolate truffles) and coffees. Vegan condensed milk replicates the sweetness and thickness of the original; Nestle’s Carnation uses only five ingredients:
- Oat flour
- Hydrolysed rice flour
- Sunflower oil
Where to find vegan condensed milk
What to use it in
For a vegan twist on a cafe bonbon, add condensed milk to the next dalgona mocha you make for a sweet take on the TikTok approve coffee hack. You can also sub it into your favourite pie recipes, or add it to frozen bananas and chocolate for a decadent and smooth no-churn ice cream. Enjoy!
By Toni Olukiran
Toni is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants, and when she’s not writing posts about everything from Jamaican cooking to vegan champagne, she’s making a Spotify playlist (she was at 200, at her last count) or playing tennis in the park.