Is Falafel Vegan?
From late-night takeaways to fuss-free lunches at home, falafel is a tasty and versatile ingredient that always finds new ways to impress us, but is it vegan?
Falafel is a hot Middle Eastern mezze dish that’s usually made from either ground chickpeas, fava beans or a combination of the two. It’s flavoured with fresh herbs, spices and garlic then rolled into balls and usually fried or baked.
Traditionally the dish is enjoyed in a pita bread filled with fresh salad, pickled vegetables, hot sauce and either garlic or tahini-based dressing, but can also be eaten by itself as a snack or with a selection of dips as part of a mezze.
Is Falafel vegan?
Traditionally, the falafel is always vegan-friendly but some sauces used might be yoghurt-based so it’s always worth checking if you’re eating out.
Is falafel gluten-free?
Again, traditionally falafel is gluten-free and both chickpeas and fava beans are naturally gluten-free. However, some shop-bought falafel might contain added gluten.
Vegan recipes to elevate your falafel game
If you’re looking for some falafel inspiration then you’ve come to the right place. You’ll love this recipe for our Rainbow Falafel Mezze that’s made up of crispy falafel, beet hummus, juicy roasted veg and a fluffy bulgur wheat puy lentil salad.
If you’re looking for some Insta-worthy brunch ideas, then have a go at this recipe for vegan falafel shakshuka from one of our guest Food Editors, Georgie.
Keep your plant-based questions coming our way!
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.