Is Gnocchi Vegan?
Yes, yes they (nearly always) are!
What is gnocchi made from?
Gnocchi is a hearty Italian potato-based pasta – a sort-of European cousin to the dumpling. It’s made by boiling or baking potatoes until they’re cooked, then after they’ve cooled, mashing them together with flour to create a dough. Once happy with the consistency, you roll out the dough and slice it into pillow shapes, often rolling them across a paddle or ridger for a uniform finish. Here’s a great combo to buy.
Photo credits: Sous Chef
Why is gnocchi not always vegan?
Sometimes egg yolks are added into the potato and flour mix as an emulsifier, but this definitely isn’t necessary and won’t affect the quality of your gnocchi.
Vegan gnocchi recipes
Here’s a simple and delicious recipe from Val for vegan gnocchi. It contains just three ingredients (potatoes, flour and salt) and is guaranteed to deliver flavourful results.
Shop-bought eggless gnocchi
Lots of supermarkets use milk powder or eggs in the fresh gnocchi, so make sure to double-check the label.
No worries if you haven’t got the time to make your own though; here are some great vegan gnocchi options from the supermarket shelves:
- We think this spinach gnocchi from Difatti will be a new family favourite
- This essential gnocchi from Waitrose is always a good buy after a long day at work
- If you need your gnocchi to be gluten-free too, then how about this one from Farabella?
What to serve with your vegan gnocchi
Here are some of our all-time favourite sauce recipes to perfectly compliment your new vegan gnocchi:
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.