Is Meringue Vegan?
Crunchy, crisp, gooey and firm, meringues are one of everyone’s most nostalgic desserts from childhood, but are they vegan?
Whether you had a pudding in mind that you wanted to make, or you’re simply plant-curious, keep reading to discover if meringues are vegan.
Traditionally, meringues are made by whisking together caster sugar and egg whites until stiff peaks have formed (anyone who’s seen Bake Off will be familiar with the daring hold-the-bowl-upside-down-over-your-head method). The mixture is then either baked or blow-torched to cook before being lovingly ladened with cream, fruit or whatever else you fancy.
Are meringues vegan?
According to traditional recipes, no, meringues aren’t vegan because they contain egg whites, a non-vegan ingredient. However, plant-based recipes substitute the egg whites with a liquid called aquafaba ending with the same delicious result.
Aquafaba might sound fancy, but in reality, it’s just the water that comes in a tin of chickpeas. Simple, yes, but it’s the magic ingredient of plant-based baking.
Read up on aquafaba and how to use it here. And, before you ask, no your meringues won’t end up tasting like chickpeas!
Be sure to check out this post with all of our favourite vegan meringue recipes in. Everything from pavlovas and Eton mess to meringue kisses and lemon meringue pie, all of which are entirely plant-based and utterly delicious.
Make sure to get any more vegan questions to us and we’ll do our best to help make plant-based living a little easier.
By Fabian Jackson
Fabian is one of our lovely Content Marketing Assistants who loves writing almost as much as he loves coffee, old episodes of Escape to the Country (no judgement here), and cooking up a storm in his kitchen.